My Git setup on Windows

GitExtensions – Free, cross-platform Git UI giving good visibility of the relationship between commits/branches while providing the power to achieve most everyday functions (commit, merge, interactive rebase, and many more)

Tip: During installation, choose the option which integrates with the windows command prompt by adding Git’s user\bin directory to your PATH.

PoshGit – Contextual information in powershell about the current branch

Tip: Set an environment variable GIT_SSH to be “C:\Program Files\Putty\PLINK.exe” to use putty for SSH from Powershell.

 

About GrahamTheCoder

I'm Graham (the coder). A C# developer based in Cambridge hoping blogging will achieve some or all of the following. Help me organise my thoughts. Practice writing things other than code. Give me a place to refer people to when I'm trying to make a long winded point. I welcome comments and constructive criticism, and hope to look back at my written opinions in the future and laugh at my own naivety.
This entry was posted in Note to self. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

